Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Shotgun barrel

Venefikus

Lakewood
Full disclosure: I over think everything.

So I'm still new to hunting, and am looking at going from a remington 870 to something a bit nicer. I was looking at a benelli nova, but it has a 24' barrel. What limitations would happen when I go from a 28 to a 24 inch barrel? Or am I just over thinking, I would like to get into waterfowl hunting.

Jackalope

Dignitary Member
Staff member
24s are more for turkey mostly due to maneuverability. The 28 gives you a tiny bit more velocity but the main benefit is the longer sight picture for fast moving birds. For waterfowl it seems the standard is 26 or 28. You should be able to find that nova in both lengths.

Venefikus

Lakewood
I kind of thought that was the case. I found a used one at cabellas that was 390$ but I liked the camo finish on it and was leaning towards that one. I want a gun that as I learn to hunt and try different game I can take with me. And know that when it comes to turkey, they have keen eyesight. Will they notice a black polymer shotgun?

Last edited:

Jackalope

Dignitary Member
Staff member
I kind of thought that was the case. I found a used one at cabellas that was 390$ but I liked the camo finish on it and was leaning towards that one. I want a gun that as I learn to hunt and try different game I can take with me. And know that when it comes to turkey, they have keen eyesight. Will they notice a black polymer shotgun?

Turkeys care more about movement than camo. You can get the one with the 24 and then pick up a waterfowl barrel in 26 or 28 inch also. Just check the price on that barrel first because I have a feeling it'll be pricy.

Reactions: Sgt Fury

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio