Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Online Dog Training Resources

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia
Whether Lulu ends up pregnant or not, I'll be training a puppy come January. I'm an intermediate dog trainer looking to move towards "seasoned" trainer. I'm looking to get more advanced with this dog in terms of hand signals, blind retrieves and multiples.

Any online videos, brands, reading you guys have used that you'd recommend, I appreciate the referrals.

My plan is to dig deep in some education and instruction over the next 4 months, hammer away at obedience until June, then start working on becoming much more than just a dog from there!

Dustinb80

#FACKCANCER
Supporting Member
S.W. Ohio
A buddy of mine is a dog trainer for local police and fire departments for bomb, accelerants, drugs etc. Not you area that you are looking for but I can ask him if he knows anyone.

Reactions: bowhunter1023

triple_duece

Ragin Cajun.
Ok if you know the basic obedience training your ahead of the game.

Couple quick pointers. Don’t teach your dog something you will have to train out later. Don’t give a command that your not willing to enforce.

About me. I’ve trained duck dogs since I was 15. I’m 51 now and last year I got into hunt test. The last 15 years my dogs have been trained to fetch ducks and blood trail deer.

A friend of mine told me about some YouTube videos so I could learn some of the finished stuff. By finished I mean from having a great dog to a excellent dog. Look up Freddy king he has some short instructional videos that follows steps you should use. It all builds on another. It’s a set of 27 videos. Watch them and watch them again. Keep in mind each video is after your dog “has” that step and you go to the next one. Some things your dog will pick up quick and others might take more time.

One thing I’d like to stress is....
Make training fun
Keep it relatively short