Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Joel's 2015 season

Joel

Centerburg, Ohio
Was thinking about starting one of these and I'm sitting here thinking about my season and plans so why not.

I've been out hunting just about every day since the season started. Might have missed 4-5 days total without any hunting. On half those days I probably messed with cameras or stared at maps I'm sure. Unfortunately nothing too exciting has happened yet but I'm feeling pretty excited about the of rest the season, and there's still quite a bit of it left!

Yesterday morning I had my first chance at a deer and blew it. I was in a stand and had a small doe hanging out for 5-10 minutes close by as the sun was coming up. She got to 20-25 yards and was standing broadside looking in the other direction so I decided to shoot. I've been wearing contacts for probably 15 years but recently started trying to wear glasses. I had a hell of a time seeing into the scope with the little bit of light there was. Something about the little bit of glare combined with still fairly low light I just couldn't see clearly. I THOUGHT I had the crosshairs where they needed to be and squeezed the trigger. She took off like something scared her, not like a deer that had been shot through the lungs. She bolted and then sort of slowed to a trot/jog maybe 50-60 yards out. I was listening for a crash but the jogging sound just faded away.