Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

2022 Muzzleloader Season

"J"

Git Off My Lawn
Supporting Member
North Carolina
6545BB46-16F3-4E3E-B0C1-D0DAD47CCA1B.png
9DF2B685-CD24-448E-8B07-7E41BF4FD56F.png

Cardio was done this muzzy season! Flatland my ass! 😂

Wildlife

Denny
Supporting Member
Ross County, Ohio
20220111_190728.jpg

Final confirmation of the missed shot on the Sunday afternoon doe, 1/9/2022.

Before I left for today's hunt earlier this morning, I studied the Tactacam video footage of the shot taken on the doe that I missed Sunday afternoon and determined exactly where she was standing and what trees were behind her at that very moment of the shot taken. I cared to do that because I wanted to locate if possible any signs of where exactly my Barnes 290gr bullet ended up at. Well, as you see in the above photos, I found the little Sapling that that got drilled, which to me, it totally confirms that I missed that deer completely.
The winds at the time of the shot had picked up considerably from the West, which may have pushed the projectile to the left of the deer because of the crosswind, missing her to the front rather than being low, and that's based on the height of the pierced hole through the Sapling shown above, which I do believe that I had the right height, just didn't adjust for windage correctly at the time for 125 yards approximately.

Today I saw only two deer.