Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Slugs?

at1010

*Supporting Member*
I am not a huge shotgun hunter, but I try to patrol my farm every year, and if I see a monster buck or coyote I shoot it.

I have started two years ago shooting Hornady SST slugs, and I love them, anyone else shoot these?

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
I've heard plenty of good things about the Hornady SST's. I am a little partial to the Federal Premium Barnes Expanders, though.

"J"

Git Off My Lawn
Supporting Member
North Carolina
Copper solid fan up too this point..... but and there's always a but..... I'm changing too a savage 220 and everything I read so far tells me either copper solids or sst's so once I get the scope rings tomorrow and get the leupold mounted we'll see....

CJD3

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
NE Ohio
I have been shooting the Winchester Sabots for about 8-10 years now out of a Winchester 1200 pump slug barrel. I have never needed to shoot a deer a second time with one of those.

But lets face it. You can have two 1911's or a pair of 10/22's or slug guns. Each new from the same factory, at the range and they paper the same ammo at the same time...
Half the time, the two guns will like different types of manf. ammo. I don't really know why but I've seen it many times. You have to try several type manf, paper them on a rest. The gun will tell you weather you need to buy Federal or Winchester or Blazer or Colt or load your own ammo. If your like me I'm sure many of you have partial box's of ammo you tried but didn't like "laying" around.

Monster Raxx

Minnesota
The best I have ever shot are the Remington AccuTip out of my sons Savage bolt action 20 gauge. I do like Brenneke Gold 3" Mags from my Browning Gold with a rifled barrel and my Ithaca Deer Slayer also.

Monster Raxx

Minnesota