Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Hunting Wayne National Forest

etboxcalls

Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone could help me out here. My buddies and I have been hunting the Wayne National Forest for a few years now near the Nelsonville/ Logan area. In those years, collectively we have seen VERY few deer but we aren't seeing a ton of hunters either. Here and there at a few areas we've hunted we've come across people but not very often. My question is this, is there any certain tracts or areas around there that anyone would recommend? This year we are looking for tracts that we can go deep and get away from the easily accessible areas. We are all from Pa and hunt these deer very much like we would back home, hunting the ridges, saddle, and looking for funnels but it just hasn't been producing. The area we're hunting is pretty rugged terrain with some high ridges and very deep hollows, just feels like we're missing something here. I just wanted to put this out there to see if anyone had any advice. I'm not looking for secret spots or anything like that just trying to figure this place out. Thanks

finelyshedded

You know what!!!
Supporting Member
SW Ohio
I agree with Jesse, its very spotty nowadays. Some areas are very sparce and others seem to have plenty. We just don't have the numbers like we use too plain and simple just like your home state of PA.
Good luck in finding a good place to hunt this season and be safe.

Last edited:
I agree with Jesse, things have changed significantly the last 5-10 years. Maybe try more remote portions of the Wayne, like into Vinton County. Even though you aren't seeing many people doesn't mean that area you have been hunting has had it's share of hunting and deer killing. Different scenery might be just what the doc ordered.

etboxcalls