Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

How's shed hunting going?

The past few weeks, I have scoured my property (total of 300 acres so it's a big area) for sheds and have not found anything. I checked notorious bedding areas, buck trails, fence lines, and thickets and haven't found a thing. There are plenty of big bucks out there, as I bagged a nice 9 point out there this year. I know the property is large and there is a huge amount of land to cover, but this has been kind of disappointing to me. Mind you this is my first year hunting out there as well. I talked to a friend the other day that said they had a few bucks on trail cam that were still antlered. Yet I went shed hunting the other day with a buddy that found 2 sheds in a half an hour (you could tell they were very fresh)! So I was just wondering how everyone else was doing out there?

finelyshedded

You know what!!!
Supporting Member
SW Ohio
http://www.theohiooutdoors.com/forumdisplay.php?67-Ohio-Shed-Hunting

Welcome To TOO! Hope you stick around awhile...
What County are you from ?
How long you been hunting?
Deer the only thing you hunt?
Tell us a little more about you if you don't mind?

Ditto

Congrats on the two you found but in some areas many are still carrying and will so for the next month. IMO, some after green up or after many just stop hunting for them. Those are the ones usually found by the turkey and morel mushroom hunters.

Welcome to TOO....BTW

Fullbore

South Eastern Ohio
Welcome to TOO.
It's been slow for me this year as well. It's still early, but green up is fast approaching and the sheds will be harder to find when that happens.
Good luck!