Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

drawings

at1010

*Supporting Member*
I finally was able to put my name in for 6 or 7 drawing hunts today.

This is my first year doing this so how do I know if I get drawn?

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
I finally was able to put my name in for 6 or 7 drawing hunts today.

This is my first year doing this so how do I know if I get drawn?

The ODNR will post the list of winners on their website after the names have been drawn. If drawn, you'll also receive confirmation in the mail, which will contain your instructions for the hunt(s). Good luck!

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
Are these hunts worth it,if your trophy hunting?never done one before...

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

The "Big 3" gun hunts... NASA Plumbrook, Ravenna Arsenal, and Ottawa National Wildlife Refuge all have trophy-caliber bucks running around. The hunting pressure is minimal and the areas are thick as hell. I wouldn't say that there are monster bucks behind every tree, but your odds of getting a BBBC buck are WAY higher on one of these hunts than hunting anywhere else in Ohio... Just my opinion.

Certain ones like Ravenna and plum brook are fenced areas and the deer aren't eligible for BBB, B&C or P&Y

Correct. You can't enter any bucks from these areas into the books.... but Booners do exist inside the fences.

Gern186

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
NW Ohio Tundra
I put in for the hunts at the Travel Research center....I think it's the Honda plant in Marysville. First time ever trying but for 3 bucks a pop its worth a shot.

Does anybody know for sure if you are already tagged out with your buck if you can kill a buck on a controlled hunt? I am figuring the answer is no, but not 100% sure.

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio