Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Jesse's 2011-2012 Season Journal...

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia
Well, seeing that we are T-minus one month until the season, there is no time like the present to start keeping tabs on the way the season is going. It is no secret who my target buck will be this year, but that doesn’t mean I’m not looking for a few other bucks I have some background with. However, for the time being my focus will be on Moe and this last camera check has lead me to the conclusion that I have some work left in front of me. This weekend is dedicated to finishing up the last few sets I have to hang and to making one strategic move aimed at making Moe that much more killable come opening weekend…

As much as I hate to do it, I need to move my stand on Hippie Ridge in order to increase my odds of killing any deer, let alone my target buck. I really jumped the gun by hanging this stand early and should have waited for the cams to tell me where to hang. After a painstaking review of the thousands of pictures and hundreds of videos I have of Moe and Captain Jack this summer, I am of the opinion I am in the wrong damn tree to get the job done. When he comes from the southern bedding area, he is angling towards my stand right in to the weakest part of that set. I really feel I have no option but to move SE and set myself up for a 30 yard shot as opposed to the 8 yard shot he’d be giving me. I picked out two trees this weekend that allow me to have an observation set and a killing set. The goal this weekend is to wait for the rains to start, and then hit Hippie Ridge and move the current set to the new killing tree; then I’ll climb the observation stand and make sure it will work for that very purpose. As of right now, I’m planning on sitting the observation stand on opening night, then moving in when I feel the time is right.