Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Deer Processing Questions

thehuntingwoodman

As this is my first year and you all have been seriously helpful, I'll tap the vault once more.

What is the protocol for getting a deer processed? Do I need to call the processor before I've even killed the deer to line that up, or just call after I've completed the deer check process?

How long is the normal turn around?

Thanks in advance for any replies. You guys seriously have made my first year hunting a ton easier.

Isaacorps

Columbus
Most places you can just show up and drop off if it’s during normal business hours. Most also will take deer after hours during peak times. Just call your local processor and see how they do things. Depending on how busy they are you could have it back in a couple days. Good luck!

Jackalope

Dignitary Member
Staff member
What he said. If i were you i would just stop by your local processor. They will be more than happy to give you a run down of the process, cuts, and special things they do like sausage etc.

Quantum673

Black Hat Cajun
Supporting Member
Most places you can just show up and drop off if it’s during normal business hours. Most also will take deer after hours during peak times. Just call your local processor and see how they do things. Depending on how busy they are you could have it back in a couple days. Good luck!
Yep. Just depends on the processor. The one I use has a refrigerated trailer that you can drop it off at anytime fill out a paper and put a number tag on it and you are done. You will just have to call and see how they do it.

Dustinb80

#FACKCANCER
Supporting Member
S.W. Ohio
Yep. Just depends on the processor. The one I use has a refrigerated trailer that you can drop it off at anytime fill out a paper and put a number tag on it and you are done. You will just have to call and see how they do it.

Mine is the same

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator