Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Pipeline spill

Bigslam51

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Stark County
That bentonite will kill several species in the river. I'm going to drive out tomorrow and talk to a farmer I know who's land I think this happened on.

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
Hmmm. Bentonite is a naturally occurring clay. Pollutant, sure... But is it truly hazardous? Hell, it's what's used to seal casing around private water wells. The spill is still a major fuck up though. Hate to see shit like this...

Clay Showalter

Southern member northern landowner
Guilford County
Hmmm. Bentonite is a naturally occurring clay. Pollutant, sure... But is it truly hazardous? Hell, it's what's used to seal casing around private water wells. The spill is still a major fuck up though. Hate to see shit like this...

Hey man I was just sharing the story, I am no expert in these things. I didn't write the story.

bthompson1004

NWOhio!
A lot of "quotation marks" in that article about "what" was spilled with no explanation as to "what" the "chemical make up" was of the fluid...I only read a little bit of the article though.

read somewhere else that the "drilling fluid" is something like 99.9% water.

Bigslam51

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Stark County

That was in Oregon, and that only covered a 5k square foot area.

Jackalope

Dignitary Member
Staff member
The biggest impact isn't to the contaminated area its the ammo it gives the environmentalist trying to put a halt to pipelines the US desperately needs.

Bigslam51

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Stark County
The biggest impact isn't to the contaminated area its the ammo it gives the environmentalist trying to put a halt to pipelines the US desperately needs.
Easy for someone to say that doesn't utilize the Tuscarawas river. I have nothing against pipelines, I understand they are needed.

bigten05