Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Hate watching em

Carpn

*Supporting Member*
Wooster
I've killed a lot of deer in my life . While I may not carry the credentials of other forum members I don't feel like I'm new to the game . Perhaps I've reached a new stage in my hunting career but I really don't like watching deer die . I love k owing I've made a clean , quick killl . But the killng is really starting to bother me . I'm not sure how to handle it .

Bigslam51

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Stark County
Watching them fall over and die is bothering you, or do you still get bothered if they run off and die out of sight?

Lundy

I think that happens to a lot of hunters as they mature, both in age and hunting.

I really don't know how many more years I'm going to continue to deer hunt, I've been debating that with myself for a few years now. Until I decide I'll just keep doing what I normally do and not fill a tag most years but still enjoy the hunt itself.

A friend of mine was bowhunting a few years ago and while walking into his stand in the afternoon he saw a deer coming through the woods towards him. he nocked and arrow and the deer kept coming closer and closer. He saw it was a button buck at around 20 yds and decided not to shoot it. The deer kept walking to him and came to him and starting nuzzling him. He was petting and hugging this deer. he took a selfie with it. He fed it a snickers bar he had with him and named the deer "snickers". That deer followed him back to his van.

When he told me that story and posted the selfie he took with the deer I told him I would have been done deer hunting had that happened to me. The next fall there was a fawn doe that would walk out of the woods and come to within 20 yds of me every time I would fill the corn feeder. I told her to get the hell away from me!!!

brock ratcliff

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member