Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Deer Hunting Property

Logan

Deer Hunting Ground, Behind Fledderjohns.jpg

Hello, I'm new to hunting farmland and would like to hear your advice on where to set up a stand based on my property.
The blue line is a creek line, the orange area represents a bedding area, the yellow represents a travel corridor between the creek and bedding it's a low washout channel. I have access to hunt everything outlined in black, and the field inbetween the woods and creekline is all corn this year.

Joel

Centerburg, Ohio
Welcome. Doesn't look you have a whole lot of choices really. I'd say wherever you can set up on that creek that has the most sign and best access for you to get in and out without the deer knowing you're there.

MK111

"Happy Hunting Grounds in the Sky"
Supporting Member
SW Ohio
Not many choices there. I would say the creek "Y" so to cover both travel area. Like a friend would say 'deer almost have to pack a lunch to travel through there'. Welcome and good luck.

Logan

Do you guys have any tips or strategies on hunting woods that are 15 acres or less, because in this area there are primarily small woods surronded by 100 acre+ fields.

mossbergbryson

Do you guys have any tips or strategies on hunting woods that are 15 acres or less, because in this area there are primarily small woods surronded by 100 acre+ fields.
The thing I've learned from hunting my buddy's smaller patch is, make sure you're on point. You have to be really sure you have your scent controll down and hunt the wind, good entry and exit paths are important. I've learned it's nice bc with a smaller area you can pattern the deer a little easier but if you mess up its easier to push them out of the woods with it being smaller. I pretty much hunt a smaller woods the same as a bigger woods I just make sure I'm on my game even more.

Bigslam51

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Stark County