Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Warm weather this week

Cardinalbuck

NE Ohio
A basic question, but hoping I can learn from the more experienced guys on here...

It's going to be pretty warm this week. How will that affect rut activity? If it does, any advice on how to hunt it?

moundhill

Supporting Member
Hebbardsville..
I can't give ya too much, I'm still learning myself. But I think I might slow things down a little, especially during daylight hours. But, the weather is showing a cold front coming through next friday, and Temps in the 30s next weekend.

Fullbore

South Eastern Ohio
A basic question, but hoping I can learn from the more experienced guys on here...

It's going to be pretty warm this week. How will that affect rut activity? If it does, any advice on how to hunt it?
My advice to you would be is to hunt your stands according to the wind, prepare to hunt all day, and move to another stand location if NO deer activity is present. It's the pre-rut phase and things should be heating up, so if it's NOT where your at? Move to a different set or location.
I go on gut instincts too! I've made last minute decisions before and more often than not. It's put a good deer in shooting range.

Good luck!

Milo

Tatonka guide.
Best thing you can do is have a plan, take good high quality shots and have people ready to help deal with warm weather and dead deer. They probably won't be able to lay overnight so good shots are the key. I'm thinking of switching over to my fixed blades just because of this heat

AfterShock

Piqua Ohio
I'm sure the deer are moving . Not sure how much . I always thought about it this way . How much moving would I want to do in 70 degree with a fur coat on

Bigcountry40