Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Have question about ground blinds

Jason O

Its my first year hunting and i have a question about ground blinds. Rite now im using a ground blind to hunt from. From what i have read your suppose to set them up a week or so ahead of time so the deer get use to them. But if your hunting on public land and you do that most likely it wont be there when you get back. So has any one had success setting them up the day of the hunt.

Hoytmania

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Gods Country
The problem with hunting deer with ground blinds is they need to be brushed in fairly well so the deer don't see them. Most deer will pick up on a blind really quick if its not very concealed.

If I was hunting public and didn't have a way to be in a tree I would find a nice blow down of tree tops and try to utilize it as a natural ground blind. You know its been there a while and so the Dee are used to it.

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia
You're wasting your time hauling in a ground blind to hunt public ground IMO. Like Hoyt said, just find a blow down and get behind it. Deer will pick you off in a ground blind that was just set up. Think about it. If I went in to your bedroom, living room or kitchen and set up my Lazy-Boy, would you notice immediately? Same idea with ground blinds and deer.

"J"

Git Off My Lawn
Supporting Member
North Carolina
You can semi make a ground blind as well using brush.... I like being above their trails on hillside and will actual carve a seat into the hillside to make it more comfortable and stand out a lot less.....

ajupsman

*Supporting Member*
New Hampshire