Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Predation on Deer

Lundy

This states with facts what I have been trying to convey with just my beliefs and no factual basis to support them. Only a belief that the numbers did not add up and something has changed significantly over the last 4 -5 years as a whole.

The deer population in Ohio was able to sustain huge increases in harvest for 5 years and repopulate for the following years, but now we much reduced harvest for 3 years the herd appears to still be declining.

I have been observing and saying for the last 3-4 years that I am seeing a lot of mature does with 1 or no fawns.

This small portion of the above article might confirm what I have been personally observing and possibly point to the single largest population reduction cause as a whole over the last 4-5 years.

In year 2005, Dr. Stephen Ditchkoff [5]of Auburn University and his students began collaring 50 fawns a year. When starting, they scarcely had a fawn killed by coyotes, but in 2008 34% were lost and in 2009 over half were lost.

Last edited:

MK111

"Happy Hunting Grounds in the Sky"
Supporting Member
SW Ohio
Great read and thanks for posting.
Interesting note in the replies. If a coyote is killed out of the area in the fall-winter another coyote will move into the vacant area. Coyotes must be killed of in the spring and fawning period.
Hell kill them both times. The hunt is on here.

Come to think of it I have seen a lot of does alone or with 1-2 fawns in the last 5-6 yrs. I even asked our Local game Warden 3 yrs. ago if he has heard of and pouching going on near my farm since I seen less smaller deer. His reply was no. He never made a comment about coyote killing deer. I guess the State Officials what to keep the coyote problem a secret to lowered the deer numbers. Just a thought.