Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

What was your favorite hunt??

rgecko23

*Supporting Member*
Massillon, Ohio
What was your most exciting hunt?

Last year I went out to one of dales farm with him. Dale has taught me a lot obout bow set up and shooting so I was pretty excited to learn some hunting stuff from him. I think of him as a big brother and its always a good time to be around him. I haven’t been hunting with someone who has had yrs of experience on their belt, so I knew I was going to learn alot. My dad has been hunting since I can remember, but he was pretty much self taught as well and passed on to me as much as he could.

We get there and and get all geared up and walk to the stands, and I had that feeling the whole way in that this is going to be a good time. I see this old gnarly tree that he has a set hung in and thought, “man, this is a cool set up”.

He goes up first and gets his gear up, then it is my turn. I get up in the tree and turn to put my bag under my seat and he says “Don’t move!!”. I’m thinking “holy shit, I just got up here”. “There are two does right behind you”. I’m not even thinking about turning around to see them. I’m just looking down trying not to move as much as possible. So I see this rage two blade about a foot from my face, Whack!! He shoots one of the doe. Hes all pumped up cause he shot a doe and I’m like holy crap dude that was intense and your arrow was 1ft from my face. Hahahahahaha. It was pretty funny. How in the world we did not spook these does out of there when we where climbing up was beyond me.