Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

New tricks

MK111

"Happy Hunting Grounds in the Sky"
Supporting Member
SW Ohio
Who said you can teach a old dog new tricks. I have been butchering my own deer since 1968 using hunting knifes and whatever knifes I had. Last year I used a fish filet knife to bone out but it was too flimzy. My brother sets up at flea market and I asked him to pick me up couple well used butcher knifes.
He found me 2 well used and pointy good qaulity butchering knifes. I have always used a sharping steel. Just a few swipes with the steel on a good quality knife and you are good to go.
I am here to tell you it sure makes easy work of skinning and boning out a deer. Since it worked so well I boned out the rear hams hanging up. It worked great and on the next deer I think I will bone out the front legs hanging up also.

In this hot weather I put froozen milk jugs of water in the body cavity and cover it up with a old heavy blanket. I learned this trick from the 1970's hunting the early Muzzleloading season down in Wildcat Hollow. We could have 70-80 degrees day there and I would put ice bags in the cavity and cover the deer up with a tarp and keep it in the shade. I kept deer that way for 3-4 days before going home and never lost a ounce of meat.

I guess it is just a matter of paying attention. Try it and you will like it.
Frank

wideerhunter

Good reminder and memory of some of my hunts. Been there and done that! I have twice donated the deer to the food pantries in Illinois too. It's a good cause and it was too hot to bring the deer back home. Important thing is that nothing gets wasted!

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio