Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Trying for 1st bow deer

MK111

"Happy Hunting Grounds in the Sky"
Supporting Member
SW Ohio
I have half heartly tried bow hunting in the past 40 yrs and have cleanly missed 2 deer. But a 68 now I figure time is running short. Handgun hunting has always been my 1st love followed by shotgun and if need be muzzleloading.
Anyway I have been battling MS for the last 32 yrs and no longer have the strength in my arms and shoulders to pull a bow. I tried a crossbow but I swear I'm too clumsy and keep bumping the tree stand.
Even in my hunting tower ( my son calls it my Executive Suite as I have 2 old office chairs in it) I sound like a beer can full of stones with the noice.
In 2011 I picked up a Hickory Creek DH24 24 inch compact bow and installed a Hickory Creek Bow-Loc on it. With this outfit I can cock it like a crossbow and actually have what you might call a vertical crossbow. I know it's not eveyones idea of bow hunting but at this point in my life it's all I got left.
I can hold and shoot it just fine. So I am putting some real effort into this year. I have a good deer trail in the brush about 100 yds from the house and installing a deer stand I just picked up at the RT 127 yard sale 2 weeks ago. Matter of fact that is how I found this site as I googled to the Willshire Gunclub Flea Market and found this site.
I have permisson to hunt on a friends property and can hunt 1/2 mile from the road. I seen a real throphy there last year before dark. And I'm getting a small electric motor bike to get me back there so I plan to have fun this year and in the future as long as I can.
Frank

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia