Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

To wrap or not to wrap

Gordo

Athens County
Well I just orders a vector turbo bow from archery talk and it's in route to milo's spot. I'm really pumped up to have him get it tuned up for me and ready to roll.

I'm no archery expert and am pretty much telling him to do what he thinks best in terms of arrow selection.

I'm going to get a coulee dozen arrows of his choice but he asked me if I was interested in wraps or not.

The only benefit I can think of is finding the arrow easier and being able to detect what's on the arrow after a pass through.

Other then 'looking bad ass' what other benefits are there to getting wraps.

I use my bow strictly for hunting.

Just wanted to hear what you guys had to say

Beentown

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Sunbury, OH
You pretty much nailed it. Some guys like them for refletching some don't.

I use wraps because the benefits outweigh the costs...

- Something I can personalize on my archery set up
- Easier to find after a shot especially since I get the reflective ones
- Trace on the arrow is easier to see.

Here is a pic with the example of the reflective effectiveness....

And this is with just using the camera flash on my POS phone.

Attachments

• uploadfromtaptalk1344915265776.jpg
    uploadfromtaptalk1344915265776.jpg
    10.5 KB · Views: 128

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
Yep... Wraps make the arrow easier to see in flight, easier to find after shot, and easier to see blood/bubbles/tissue after a hit. They may also help provide better fletching adhesion, but that's about it.

IMO, re-fletching arrows that are wrapped is a royal pain in the ass. Maybe I just don't have the right strategy down yet... but whatever. For this reason, I rarely wrap my practice arrows.

Beentown

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Sunbury, OH