Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Lineman's Belt

Huckleberry Finn

Also, anyone tie their own prussic knots on rope (what size?) to make a static (think thats the right term) climbing line similar to the safety systems they sell?

Fluteman

Supporting Member
Southeast Ohio
Also, look for a lineman's belt with locking caribiners (muddy), as they give you that extra piece of mind that they wont pop open.

Fluteman

Supporting Member
Southeast Ohio
Is the Muddy belt better then the HSS strap?If so how?

I personally like a rope as opposed to an actual belt because it tends to stay stiffer making it easier to climb without getting hung up. Also, in the link Huck provided, the HSS belt doesn't have a locking caribiner, which makes me nervous, as I like to know once my biner is locked in, it isn't going anywhere if I bump it. I am by no means an expert on the subject, just my own personal opinion bases on my experience using a lineman's belt.

I personally like a rope as opposed to an actual belt because it tends to stay stiffer making it easier to climb without getting hung up. Also, in the link Huck provided, the HSS belt doesn't have a locking caribiner, which makes me nervous, as I like to know once my biner is locked in, it isn't going anywhere if I bump it. I am by no means an expert on the subject, just my own personal opinion bases on my experience using a lineman's belt.

.Both the locking biners an the stiffer rope vs Strap makes sense,,Sadly its its 15 or 20$ difference between the 2,and I admit im on a budget after dropping the wad on the stand,sticks and Molle 2 system(which dont work GREAT with a LW hang on btw)...

On another note you should make a faster vid with your LW sticks an the Linemans Rope now..
http://www.gomuddy.com/store/mainprod-muddy-accessories/460.html

Is this your suggestion then, Greg? Doesn't specifically say if the carabiner is locking or not.