Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Truck Leveling

cotty16

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
I really wasn't sure where to put this, so I figured "projects and crafts" would be best.

I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination. I probably was better with tools when I was a kid working on my bike than I am now as an adult. When I first bought my truck I installed step tubes... that was a major accomplishment for me. Lol!
I enjoyed doing it though.

Anyway... I've been looking into a leveling kit for my truck. I guess I'm never satisfied. I have a 2011 Ram 1500 and was curious if this is wise thing to do. I'm also thinking of a wider wheel stance with fender flares.
I guess my questions are:

1. How hard is it to do?
2. How will it effect my warranty?
3. How will it effect my gas mileage?
4. Will it make that much of a difference appearance wise?
5. Will it effect the ride?
6. Am I crazy?

aholdren

Supporting Member
South East Ohio
I have a friend that bought a new 2003 Dodge and he cranked on the torsion bars and got it pretty level. If I remember right, I think he complained of front tire wear after that. Put it in the AIR! Good luck.

cotty16

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
It's funny you mention front tire wear. What really got my wheels turning on this is a truck I followed into a parking lot yesterday. It was an F-150 that wasn't jacked up, but had the widers stance I'm looking for. He said he had a leveling kit added that gave it a slight lift and the rims he got from Summit racing. Anyway, as I was talking to him I noticed his front tires looked like shit. I didn't ask him about it because I didn't want to insult him. It could have been coincidence, but they sure were worn funny.

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia
1. How hard is it to do?