Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

favorite call and why

moundhill

Supporting Member
Hebbardsville..
Booty call. Just sayin
Amen lol.

My favorite is probly any slate call that i can get to sound decent. I really dont have a favorite because it all depends on what the turkeys want to repsond to. I bought a new white liar call, that sounds great, but it's too quiet. I also like to get a glass slate and rub the heck out of it with chalk. Makes for a great pitch. Mouth calls arent really my thing, but i just need to practice at them. As for box calls, I only use them to imitate a gobble..

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia
Considering I killed my first bird with a Primos Sonic Dome, I'll roll with it. But I'm far more versatile and effective with a Primos Jackpot slate call...

Hoytmania

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Gods Country
Can't really say I have a favorite as I am still learning soicy when it comes to calling turkeys. Have a few different mouth calls but I can't figure those things out to savey life. I also have a friction call that I picked up at the expo two years ago that I really like. It is the keystroke mini wedge with glass. That thing has such a wide volume range.

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
I've got a bunch of mouth calls laying around, and a few of them I really like. I just picked up a Zink Wicked Lady last weekend and it sounds really good. I also got a new Primos Long Spur diaphram a few weeks ago that sounds great... although I somehow misplaced it recently. Doh! The Zink Shane Hendershot Signature Series is another one of my favorites. I like these calls because (for me) I find them easy to operate and they sound great... That's what everyone wants from their diaphram calls.