Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Great Q&A About Big Buck Hunting

Fluteman

Supporting Member
Southeast Ohio
I saw this posted over on Archerytalk and figured I would share it over here. IMO, this is a great Article featuring Andrae D'Acquisto, owner of Lone Wolf Stands, talking about hunting and killing big bucks.

http://www.grandviewoutdoors.com/de...tent/6/2009/1618/Going-All-Out-On-Public-Land

I think back to when I had the most big buck encounters and success (despite the lack of a trophy wall), and I was using many of these techniques, only I hadn't put it all together in my head as he had. I have been using trail cameras for three years now, and I find myself using them as a crutch, which has in turn made me a lazy hunter. In 2012, I plan on getting back to my roots, getting out there to do more scouting, and stop hunting the same spots over and over just because I got one good picture of a buck. This article opened my eyes again to what I've been missing the last few years, and I figured I would pass it on in hopes it might do the same for others. There isn't a ton of in-depth information, but it might just help get a few of you back on track.

Last edited:

mrex

*Supporting member*
I agree with most of what he says in the interview but not everything, although it's sure hard to argue with his success. His remark about trail cameras, "done right, you can pretty much get a picture of just about every deer that’s out there." My experience has been very different...or I'm not doing it right. I see dead bucks every year that come from areas where I run cameras and never get a photo of.

brock ratcliff

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member