Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Fingers are crossed...

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia
I've always felt the old saying "Those who can... do. Those who can't... teach." applied pretty well to me as an athlete. I've always been athletic, but I wasn't someone who was making First Team anything. Baseball was my first passion in life, but after declining scholarships to play in college, it took a backseat to life. When I started playing again four years ago in the adult league here in town, it reaffirmed how much I love the game. I've known for years that I wanted to get in to coaching, it was just a matter of when and where. Since it doesn't appear I'll have a kid to coach for quite a while, I knew I'd have to look elsewhere for that opportunity. Last week I caught wind that our high school was in need of a JV coach, although I'm not sure how much truth there really was in the tip. So this afternoon I sent an email to the AD at the high school informing him that I would like to throw my hat in the ring for an unpaid JV coaching job. Still no response, but I'm hopeful this will work out...

I have the ability to adapt my work schedule around being a baseball coach, so there are no real worries there. The wife supports me 100% in this journey, so I hope I get the same support for the AD and the other baseball coaches. I feel I'm well qualified for the job despite not having any previous coaching experience. I have been to some of the top camps in the country growing up and was always a sponge to that type of instruction. When it comes to coaching catchers, first basemen, second basemen, and hitting, I feel I can hold my own. I also have a solid grasp of pitching mechanics given I've spent 15 years behind the plate and attended several pitchers/catchers camps at Marietta College (one of the top D-III schools in the national).