Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Tree Safety Reminder

Huckleberry Finn

I had an accident today and I wanted to share it with all of you as a reminder of the dangers that are involved in the sport that we pursue.

This morning I went out to move my tree stand and climbing sticks and did so successfully. Picked a nice tree and got everything cinched up and safely anchored. I'm not a pro but I did a good job...so I know that everything was tight, etc.

I returned a few hours later to hunt that stand. It was a routine hunt until I started to climb my ladder stand. I had my harness on, but of course was not tied onto anything as I went up the steps. When my feet hit 6 feet in the air, the mud on my rubber boots caused me to slip off of the steps. I have no idea what happened, all I know is that it happened quickly. It doesn't make a lot of sense to me since I have climbed that ladder many, many times this season and for a few weeks last season.

Whatever happened, I was unable to grab onto anything and fell on my back directly below the stand. I could not breathe and was choking. I found my phone in my pocket and dialed my father several times. We were doing the 'missed call' and 'busy' thing and I realized that I could not stay in the position that I was in and gradually picked myself up and stood leaning on the tree. I could breathe and reached my dad and explained to him what happened that I was ok, but freaking out and not sure of my injuries.