Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

spoiled meat possibly

swamp_donkey819

was wondering if anyone knew how long a deer can sit dead in the woods before the meat starts to spoil and is beyond eating, i know they say if you think the shot is bad then come back in the morning, id rather just wait awhile then find it rather then leave it lay in the woods and rot, im not one for wasting good meat. so does anyone know how long it can sit in the woods dead before the meat is bad

Beentown

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Sunbury, OH
Just depends on the temp. Below 45....it can go for a good long while as long as the guts aren't spilled. That is where you pick up most of your food bourne illness...feces.

Beentown

hickslawns

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
I am not an expert here. Best I can tell you is try to make the best shot possible and cross that bridge when you get there. I would imagine we will all get there sooner or later. This is what is great about TOO. You shoot a deer and there is any doubt in your mind about shot placement and weather conditions, you can post it up here for opinions. Chances are if there is doubt, you will be waiting at least a few hours. Within a few hours, I would bet you have a decent amount of opinions on what your next move should be. If I encounter this situation, you bet your butt that is what I will be doing.

swamp_donkey819

yea lol i been shootin everyday trying to pin point my shot so i dont have a shaky hand or flinch or close my eyes when i shoot and so far its all good but like they say its a whole nother world when a doe or a big buck is in front of ya, but i mean the huntin shows half of em dont eat the meat which is why they leave em lay over night and get the next evening, me i like my freezer filled and if opinions tell me i should be looking instead of on here talkin about it well ill be headin back in the woods lol

dante322