Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

What is This ????????

CJD3

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
NE Ohio
Background:
I have been mowing this area for over 30 years. Just this year, a area roughly 2ft. x 3ft. started to loose the grass growing there. As you can see in the picture, this 2 x 3 ft. area has dead grass. Mom and Dad started poking around the rectangular area and started to uncover some sort of steel. Yesterday I went to the spot with her and dug up a little further. I discovered this steel piece attached to a 2 x 3 foot hunk of poured cement. It was just a inch or two under the surface. The location had a farm house and barn dating back to 1870's. (now long gone) In the 1920's-1970's, there have been trap shooting events, large group picnics as well as various other outdoor type recreational events.
It would suspect that the 2 longer upright sides have been broken off but I may be wrong.
I would like to know if anyone can tell me what this might have been a base for... :smiley_confused_vra

2 x 3 foot area w/ grass dieing

Coke can for scale

Last edited:

Mike

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Up Nort
Strange. I have no clue. Almost looks like it had sides that were busted off.

Curran

Supporting Member
Central Ohio
That's weird though that it just started to cause the grass to die off now? Maybe that's just a coincidence.... or is it?

Beentown

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Sunbury, OH
It holds tiny alien space ships. They have come back and their gravity drive engines kill the grass ;)

Beentown

Riverdude

The Happy Hunting Grounds Beyond
Supporting Member
Ashtabula, Ohio
Big Bro, is this over at the "Picnic Grounds"? I would agree with Adam that is was some kind of "footer" for the beams to the barn. I just can't believe how well that coke can has held up over the years. rotflmao

RedCloud

Super Moderator
Super Mod
North Central Ohio