Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Food Plot Itinerary 2011

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
Jesse's thread about his food plot plans got me fired up, and since my planting is going to start in about a week I figured I'd share my plans as well.

Although I've been hunting this property for the past 7 or 8 years, last fall was the first time I've planted any food plots there. There were three plots total, one 3/4 acre and two 1/4 acre plots... all three planted with this blend: 100# canadian oats, 50# winter rye, 5# red clover, 3# ladino clover per acre. Even though I skipped soil tests and fertilizer (because cash was tight at the time), surprisingly these plots did really well. The deer enjoyed them, dining on the oats and rye throughout the fall and winter, and now they're hammering the clover.

Everything worked out great last year, so I should probably just stay the course and throw down the same blend this year right? Haha yea right! Now that I've got some devirginized soil and nitrogen-fixing clover established, it's time to mix it up. There is very little food near this property in terms of agricultural crops, so by planting an assortment of forages it should make the property more appealing to the deer.

This year I'm going to be adding Brassicas to the plots. In conjuction with more cereal grains and clover, these brassicas should add a significant amount forage to the property. Originally I had planned on buying all generic seed from the local co-op, but I found some deals on Evolved Harvest seed that I just couldn't pass up. Here's what I'm working with...

2# EH Rack Radishes (1.2# T-Raptor Rape, 0.8# Daikcon Radish)

7# EH Trophy Forage (1.4# Rangi Rape, 1.4# Barkant Turnip, 1.4# white clover, 1# berseem clover, 1.75# coating material)

4# EH ProGraze (1.8# Browning Rape, 0.6# Barabas Turnip, 0.7# clover, 0.3# chickory, and some more coating material)