Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

How long will the ice last?

How long will the ice last?

• 2 weeks

Votes: 1 25.0%
  • 3 weeks

Votes: 2 50.0%
  • 4 weeks

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • other?

Votes: 1 25.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
It's melting! It's melting! :smiley_crazy:

Since this is my first year of ice fishing, I've not paid much attention to how long it takes for the ice to melt off and not be "safe" to fish. However, the ice will surely melt quicker than it froze. One thing's for sure and for certain...it won't be long and the ice fishing will be gone. :smiley_byebye:

What's your best guess, as to how much longer we'll be able to fish on the hard water?

* 2 weeks
* 3 weeks
* 4 weeks
* other?

Thank you, Bowhunter57

Gern186

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
NW Ohio Tundra
It won't be worth crap in a couple days after mid 50's. Even if you could get on it there will be a lot of water sitting on top of the ice which makes conditions less than favorable, and not to mention slippery as hell. It will freeze back up during the next cold snap, but we don't have a lot of time left, less than 2 weeks.

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
Not that I'd want to fish on since it's gonna be so sloppy, but I bet the ice will be "fishable" for at least two, maybe 3 more weeks. I was sitting on well over 15" this weekend at New London Reservoir.

I'm guessing about 3 weeks, myself. There's a solid 11" to 13" of good ice on most of the lakes/ponds that I've been fishing. :smiley_bril: It will depend on how much water is on top of the ice, as to how miserable it gets to be out there fishing.