Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Doors shutting, doors opening.

Outdoorsfellar

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
As the saying goes, doors shutting, can lead to doors opening. I've been hunting the same property for the last 25 years. It's right behind my house, so it was a blessing not to have to be driving somewhere to hunt. That can leave a guy a bit spoiled. Being able to just walk out the door & not worry about bumping into someone else is something we all dream about. Well, the last few years saw the land being leased & my hunting area quickly diminished. It was an odd situation. The land owner said he didn't mind if I went up in a bit, but it was his son who brought in the outfitters. All in all, I knew my days were numbered. I haven't gone looking for new land to hunt in many years. I became lazy. One of my brother in laws have some land, but the other family members didn't want anyone hunting. It wasn't nearby anyhow, I have another brother in law much closer, but his wife never wanted hunters in, at least that's what my wife said, so I never asked. Never. I came home from work a day ago, & my wife had gone out to eat dinner with this this particular brother & his wife. I was home from work when she arrived, she said she had some news. I told her I had a really good day at work & I only wanted good news.

She told me her brother is getting tired of finding tree stands on his property when has not been giving permission to anyone. He owns 70 acres & lives 3 miles away, as the crow flies. She proceeded to tell me he's wanting me to come in to hunt & police his land. I've really never paid attention to his ownership, but when I investigated the online plat maps, I was quite surprised to see that I never knew how much area this encompassed. I've had past & also present dealings with his neighbors, that I didn't even know lived there !