Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Scouting with Cams.....

CritterGitterToo

Central Ohio
So, I'm new to using trail cameras. I started last off season, in the summer and now. I've seen guys talk of using cams to pattern a buck. I've seen guys talk of using cams to zero in on a good buck. This seems difficult at best. First of all, if you run a high volume of cams, you're really increasing your risk for theft. Secondly, the more you're in the woods checking cams, moving cams, muckin around in there, the more disturbance you're creating and thus making it harder to "pattern" a mature buck.

So, how does this work? Are guys using those cellphone trail cams so they don't have to enter the woods much to disturb the area? Do they think they have it figured out and cam is just to confirm? It just seems trampeling all through a mature bucks area to get pictures of him is going to make him a LOT harder to kill.

So, you guys that have been running cams for years and years and have more experience than I may ever get. Is this common, or more of the exception to the rule?

Gordo

Athens County
The one thing that crosses my mind is that if deer get used to something, it's no longer a disturbance. It's part of every day life.

You can 'desensitize animals to things if your consistent enough with how you do things.

If your running a camera and corn in the same place for 5 years, check it/replenish it once a week on a schedule, YEAR around, it is no longer going to be a disturbance to the deer. Eventually, none of them will no life with-out your intrusion.

That's a good head start to being able to pattern mature deer

Gordo

Athens County
What I said is one small part of how people are using cams. More geared towards spreading some corn and popping a cam over it.

That seems to be a first step for guys who are really maximizeing the effectiveness of TC's

hickslawns

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio