Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Let's talk Honey Bee?

buckstar25

T-county
I'm in my first year raising honey bees. I know nothing, I am learning every day by talking to different experienced guys. I also read a lot, Google a lot, and use what I pick up when working my hive.

I've always been interested in honey bees and a co-worker was nice enough to "pay it forward" and hook me up with 2 brood boxes, and a swarm that he collected. We transported the hive to my property and set it on a site I had prepared. Since then I have watched my hive explode with new brood and my queen is an egg laying machine. So far my bees are very gentle and I have not had any issues while doing my inspections.

My goal is to keep bees as natural as possible. I will plant native flowers and trees that are known honey bee preferences.

NAC1989

Clark county
I keep bees and in my second year now. I started with 1 hive last year that went queenless and died I now have 5 hives this year. I'm still learning and there's plenty to learn!

buckstar25

T-county
I am in the process of working a feral hive that I found. I want to try and get them through winter and hopefully catch them when they swarm next spring.

The entrance is vertical and has no shelter from rain/snow. I made some templates today and am going to try and seal it off so there is some protection for wintering.

buckstar25

T-county
Here is a few pictures of the feral hive.

https://vimeo.com/177479157

NAC1989

Clark county
I didn't intend on having 5 hives this year. I put up 4 swarm traps in the spring hoping to catch 1 or 2 swarms, I thought I wasn't going to catch any since it was getting late in the season for swarms so I ended up ordering a package of bees and a nuc hive, and then 2 days after ordering them I caught 2 swarms. And then on July 11th I found this on a sunflower in my garden.
image.jpg
Hive number 5.

NAC1989

Clark county