Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Thinking About Quitting my Job

Wmiller07

I am a piping designer at an engineering company and I've been doing it for the last 5 years. Over the last year or so I've been trying to think of ways to get out of it. The longer I sit in that stupid cubicle the more I hate it. I talked to the wife about possibly getting into personal training and she was fine with it. It will be a slow process as I wouldn't just up and quit with no real plan but I have to do something I'm passionate about or I think I will regret it. Any of you guys ever give up a good paying job to pursue a dream?

xbowguy

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Licking Co. Ohio
It's your life..... But: You can always get a job easier if you have a job. Quitting tells the new guy you are capable of up and quitting without a notice. A buddy who used to hire people said he views jobless people as lazy right off the bat.

Wmiller07

Right, like I said I wouldn't just up and quit. I have too many responsibilities to do that. I would continue workingthe job I have and start with one client. I wouldn't quit my current job until it's financially viable.

Bigslam51

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Stark County
Hopefully I have the balls to actually do it. I just can't imagine sitting in a cubicle for another 30+ years.
I can't imagine working in a 120° factory, climbing up and down a ladder 75 times a day for another 30 years either. Count your blessings and be thankful you get to work in an air conditioned environment;) If you think you can make a decent living as a personal trainer then do it.

Wmiller07

Think of things such as benefits and retirement. Consider all angles before making your adjustment.

That is a good point. Ive gotten to know the guys that own and manage the gym I train at now so I'm going to talk to them about it.

Wmiller07