Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

2 row planter?

at1010

*Supporting Member*
I have a 38hp Kubota Tractor
I want a 2 row planter for just doing a few acres of plots that I do every year. Sometimes corn, sometimes beans.

Couple questions
1. What is a good brand/price for a 2 row planter?
2. Do you typically till the fields, then run the planter over top?
3. Typically are they easy to calibrate the seed rate? Just have a guy follow you with ATV with seed and fill hoppers as they run out?

I am a noob with these so I have to ask!

thank you!

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
I'd suggest scouring auctions and whatnot for an old John Deere planter. I don't know the model numbers...there's a bunch. Some have fertilizer hoppers and some do not. My experience is with 4-row JD planters with fertilizer hoppers, hydraulic-lift. You're probably going to want to stick to a 3-pt setup for the kubota. Prices are going to be all over the place, just depends on the condition and age. I would think you could pick up a decent one for less than a few hundred bucks.

Till field first, then cultipack to even things out, then run the planter through.