Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

bow dry fire

at1010

*Supporting Member*
I had my mathews out tonight and was shooting a bit. I drew it back after shooting with my fingers and was just seeing if the timing was right on the cam, shouldn't have done it. I was almost letting it down and it dry fired.

I have never done this before, and Im just pissed at myself. I didn't see any cracks in limbs. I also shot two arrows after I did it and no obscure noises and bow was shooting fine.

So did I just get lucky?

Bigslam51

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Stark County
You must of. I did the same shit with my Mathews monster right after I got it, only I was at full draw. I got lucky also. Broke the strings that was all.

Jackalope

Dignitary Member
Staff member
Often what happens when someone draws a modern compound with their fingers they torque the string. Even the slightest twist of pressure will cause the string to jump the cam groove when letting down. The sting will roll off the cam and hit the axle yanking the string from your grip quite violently. People believe they dry fired it but odds are they decammed it. In your case since the string was still on that's not what happened though. Just another thing than can go wrong.

Milo

Tatonka guide.
Never ever draw a compound with your fingers if your not a finger shooter ..

at1010

*Supporting Member*
well Milo and I chatted, I will probably just bring it to a shop to get looked at to make sure.

I must have reached it with my other hand to try to catch the string haha my left hand fingers are swollen from the string hitting them, not sure how I pulled that off.

Milo

Tatonka guide.
image.jpegimage.jpeg
well Milo and I chatted, I will probably just bring it to a shop to get looked at to make sure.