Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Looking for a new career... construction

teej89

NE PA
Hey guys, figured I'd throw something up here. Anywho... long story short I've been outta school for 3 years now and absolutely have no interest in my current job. I'm a structural engineer, building design, and I could give a rats arse about designing stuff anymore. A lot of my current projects are in construction and I'm on site a lot recently and it made me realize I really want to be in construction. Not subcontractor, a general contractor and either be a project engineer or project manager. I enjoy the being on your feet, working in a team, and just the people. Not the nerdy anti-social people you meet in an engineering office. This summer I put a picture of an elk as my computer background and they thought it was either a moose or some kind of a deer.... smh

Anyone on TOO work in this field? I'd interested in talking to you...

Also another thing is I'm eligible to sit for my PE exam next spring/fall. Should I wait to get this? I seriously hate structural engineering so I'm like why in the world would I want to devote hours a day on top of my miserable job to study for something that I'm not going to do anything with.

I'm a high energy kid (most likely ADHD) and sitting behind a desk all day not talking to anyone drives me absolutely insane.

Thanks guys!

Milo

Tatonka guide.
What the hell ... Dear Abby.....tie that lovely lady down and get the hell out of if ohio

Last edited:

teej89

NE PA
What the hell ... Dear Abby.....tie that lovely lady down and get the hell out of if ohio

hahaha! I was waiting for you. I feel we have this convo every time I'm at your place. If she doesn't get into nursing next semester we're looking at denver next spring.

Milo

Tatonka guide.
Billings my man... Billings... Too many crazy ass people in Colorado. Shootin the town up

"J"

Git Off My Lawn
Supporting Member