Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Issue with my climber

ajupsman

*Supporting Member*
New Hampshire
This incident happened to me last year in Ohio hunting on public land. I've been meaning to share it here for a while but it's a long story so I've been putting it off. The story posted earlier today about the man being killed in Michigan after a fall gave me the kick in the ass needed to post my story.

I've been using climbers since 2012. They are my favorite stands to use and I have 2 of them. Summit Goliath's to be exact. I bought one in 2012 and the other was brand new last year. The reason they are my favorite is I feel they are the safest. Once I've hooked both sections of the stand to the tree I attach a rope style tree strap with a prussit knot to the tree, hook my tether in to the carabiner and I'm ready to go. From the ground up and back down I'm always attached to the tree. I felt very secure like this and as you guys know security some times changes to cockiness or complacency. I used them enough that I got to the point I felt could get in to just about any tree with them.