Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Kayak Hunting/ Open Water Hunting

JohnTheDeer

Hello. I am a biology/environmental science student in college and I am new to hunting and especially duck hunting. I have a few questions regarding certain types of waterfowl hunting. Any help will be greatly appreciated. I am sorry if this info is available online, I just could not find it anywhere.

I am wondering about the Ladue and the Grand River public hunting areas. I see that the river runs through this area. Is waterfowl hunting allowed to be done within the public hunting land while floating down the river on a kayak? If so are there specific regulations regarding it?

I also have some questions regarding the open waterfowl hunting area at deer creek and walbourn reservoir in alliance. How exactly does that work? Can you just go to any location that it doesn’t say is restricted and hunting waterfowl form the boat? Is there certain rules about driving around and hunting or about being a certain distance away from other hunters?

I might have some more questions as I come up with them but this will help for now.

Thanks a lot!

Jackalope

Dignitary Member
Staff member
First. Welcome to TOO! Secondly, let me share something with you friend. You might think you can handle it, you also might think it was a freak accident. Take if from someone who'se been there done that. It's no way in hell worth the risk. Take a bigger boat like a johnboat and even then always have someone else with you. Cold water kayaking while in cold weather clothing is a recipe for death. Trust me when I say leave the kayak at home when duck hunting.

http://www.theohiooutdoors.com/showthread.php?t=17600

"J"

Git Off My Lawn
Supporting Member
North Carolina