Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Jesse's 2015 Plots

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia
'Tis the season and I've been after it for a couple weeks now. With 4 plots going in the ground over the next couple days, I wanted to dedicate a thread to one of favorite hobbies. I've been putting plots in since 2005 and have come a long ways in that time. The plot that sits in what I call Paradise was started in '05 with a weedeater, rake and some Biologic Hot Spot. It didn't grow for shit and was way more labor intensive than it had to be!

Today I returned to Paradise to start the 2015 version and it's now twice the size. I now have a backpack sprayer, bigger weedeater, gas powered blower and a walk behind tiller. 12 days ago the plot looked like this...

There have been times I've spent 8 hours on this plot getting it prepped. I took the weedeater and the poly head to it, then the blower, then the weedeater again, followed with the blower. In an hour, I had it looking like this...

I walked our tiller down and hit it once before running out of gas. I'll return tomorrow and hit it one more time before spreading seed. We are set to plant all 3 plots at the farm on Sunday, so lots more to come on this thread over the next couple of days.

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia
The Pure Attraction is going in a plot at the farm I call the Corner Pocket. I'm planting Evolved Harvest Throw & Gro X-treme Oats in Paradise. I've had good luck with Throw & Gro in that plot in the past, so I went that route again. This is the first time I've done the oat version, so we'll see how it does.

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia