Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Chosin Reservoir

Dustinb80

#FACKCANCER
Supporting Member
S.W. Ohio
Ive seen it discussed in here somewhere, but couldn't find it. The other night I recorded and watched a 2 hour special on the Chosin Reservoir in Korea in 1950. Being a Combat Vet myself, it hit me hard. Not ashamed to admit that by the end I had a tear in my eye. The shit those men went through is amazing. I decided then and there that if I were to ever run into a guy who served there at a bar, they would never have to buy a beer again. 15,000 men were there, 3,000 killed, 6,000 wounded and 12,000 suffered some type of frostbite. At one point it was 40 degrees below zero. I couldn't imagine breathing in that temperature, let alone having to fight a war. Once I got done, I decided that my 16yo Step Son needed to watch it. He needs to learn about respect for his elders, let alone all Veterans. Ive always tried to teach him that no matter where he is, he is to shake hands with a man when he meets them, and to show them respect b/c he has no idea what they have been through. Im hoping he learned something last night. I hope that he learned that he has to earn and fight for what he wants, nothing is free, nothing is going to be given to him. Want to say thank you to all my fellow veterans, past and present that have served this awesome country.

Dustin

MK111

"Happy Hunting Grounds in the Sky"
Supporting Member
SW Ohio
I watched that show too. Those poor guys went through hell.
I know a guy that was there and he lives in Fairfield. But he won't talk about it and he only mentioned one time when I mentioned it at one of our Credit Union Board meeting. He only said 'I walked out of there with those guys'. End of story. He's a little guy and probably goes 140 lbs. now and I'm sure he was smaller then.
I have a friend that was a machine gunner and I've told that story before of his flashback.