Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Interesting

"J"

Git Off My Lawn
Supporting Member
North Carolina
Ran across some pictures of a clear lower for an AR and thought it looked pretty cool, don't think I'd ever go that route as it just seems like it wouldn't handle the rigors of a SHTF time.... Opinions?

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1422805991.627653.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1422806010.009777.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1422806026.794557.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1422806040.612819.jpg

Dannmann801

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Springboro
I sell plastic for a living. I have no problems telling people that plastic is not right for their application if it isn't.

A plastic AR lower has no practical, long term functional benefits I can think of. IF it were of a composite with higher temp and strength etc etc, it would certainly cost WAY more than metal right now.

Unless you want the novelty of an item, don't even consider spending a dime.

Ohiosam

*Supporting Member*
Mahoning Co.
The upper takes almost all the stresses of firing. Polymer lowers aren't new and seem to function fine. That said a transparent lower recieve isn't for me.

MK111

"Happy Hunting Grounds in the Sky"
Supporting Member
SW Ohio
Exactly. The lower just holds the barrel from falling off and a place to hold the trigger, mag, and butt stock.

The pistol grip is nice and we use them.

The butt stock 'wrist support' the ATF on 1-16-15 issued a new ruling that if you put the butt against you shoulder you have changed the character of the item and you will have a illegal short barrel rifle using less than 16" barrel.

The upper takes almost all the stresses of firing. Polymer lowers aren't new and seem to function fine. That said a transparent lower recieve isn't for me.

Hedgelj

Supporting Member
Mohicanish
Exactly. The lower just holds the barrel from falling off and a place to hold the trigger, mag, and butt stock.