Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

4 product review used today

MK111

"Happy Hunting Grounds in the Sky"
Supporting Member
SW Ohio
I did a set today in 30 degree temp and 16MPH wind. It was cold and windy. I thought it would be a good time to do a test of my Cabelas Extreme Cold Stand insulated coveralls I bought last January.http://www.cabelas.com/product/Cabe...ld+coveralls&WTz_l=Header;Search-All+Products
I couldn't have picked a better day for a test. I have no regrets on buying these coveralls. They are heavy and bulky but was no problem stand setting. The hand warmer muffs were nice and it has a pocket on top for hand warmers that I used to put my phone and a pair of gloves in.
In fact it kept me so warm that in 5 hrs. I didn't even zip the front up as I was warm enough. I do wish I would have gotten the next larger size but when I bought them on a closeout the 2X Large wasn't available.

Next was my Sorrel insulated boots. They kept my feet warm and toasty even after walking through the creek. I only had on heavy socks.

Next is my Big Dog 2 man wrap around ladder stand. I bought 2 of these in 2013 when Menards had a after season closeout. It is rock solid and roomy. I did make a improvement to it by bolting on a plastic form fitting chair bottom. I have a lower back and pelvic problem and with these form fitting seats I can do a 12 hr. set. Otherwise I can't set 10 minutes on a hard flat surface.

Last but not least is the Big Dog ladder stand blind I bought from Phil in 2013. The blind keeps the rain and wind off you while helping to hid you outline and movements.

I find no reason to improve on or replace any of these 4 items.