Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Questions

Hoytman62

I have found a pretty good place to hunt. I have does and bucks both traveling two runways as they say. I can't seem to get them in closer for a bow shot. Any suggestions? As you know I'm new at this only hunting 2 years with a bow. How do you descent your bow or do you? If you spray it, it would leave white stuff all over it. Thanks for your help!

Hoytmania

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Gods Country
The problem is you are trying to "decent" or trying to smell invisible. No matter what you do there is going to be scent. So you have to try and figure out what is the best scent for you to have that will not alarm deer.

Smoke is by far the best thing I have found for a cover scent for clothing skin and equipment.

CJD3

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
NE Ohio
In cases where I don't have a good stand location on a trail, I bring them to a point of my choosing. One cool idea I did years ago was to take a gallon plastic bag and dig up a scrape from a location outside of my local deer. The new "man made" scrape made the local bucks freak out on it and they come back repeatedly at first to leave their own scent. Of course the local does come in to check it out too. You also have the option of using food such as apples, pears or corn; spread out/aka "a pile". (They will find it no matter where you put it in the woods) Commercial drippers filled w/ one of the various doe-in-heat. Rattling if you know how or a doe/fawn bleat.