Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

All Bucks and no Does...problem?

Smokey Vanes

SW OHIO
Fellas, I've got an interesting situation going on at my property. I have a 22 acre plot that has mature timber, small fields (grass), and thickets/bedding areas, a creek and a pond. Since September I have over 1,000 pics on 2 different trail cams of multiple different bucks, from spikes to monsters. Sounds great right? The problem is that out of all of those pics, I might have 10 pics of does. I'm afraid that the lack of does will drive the bucks out of the area when the rut hits. This is my first year hunting this property because I just bought it. Property is surrounded by acres and acres of woodlands. What do you guys think?

Gordo

Athens County
22 acres is a small part of of any deers home range. Dont think too much. Just hunt hard/smart and dont burn the property out.

Jackalope

Dignitary Member
Staff member
Fellas, I've got an interesting situation going on at my property. I have a 22 acre plot that has mature timber, small fields (grass), and thickets/bedding areas, a creek and a pond. Since September I have over 1,000 pics on 2 different trail cams of multiple different bucks, from spikes to monsters. Sounds great right? The problem is that out of all of those pics, I might have 10 pics of does. I'm afraid that the lack of does will drive the bucks out of the area when the rut hits. This is my first year hunting this property because I just bought it. Property is surrounded by acres and acres of woodlands. What do you guys think?