Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Basement Foundation repair

Mike

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Up Nort
Does anybody have a working knowledge on this subject. I'm currently taking estimates from 5 area contractors.
My poured walls are severely cracked and some are bowing but it is not a structural issue at this point. All companies are A to A+ rated with the BBB.
My main issue is not knowing what is overkill and what will be adequate to solve our problems. The other issue is that everyone will have a different opinion and technique.
I can add pics and details if anyone can help and give their opinion.

teej89

NE PA
I could help you out, I am a structural engineer actually. Let's see the pics and details. I'm not licensed yet but I could give you my $0.02.

Mike

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Up Nort
Excellent!

Our house was built in 1978 in clay and then back filled with clay.:smiley_blackeye:
There is a lot going on.

The first issue is at the front of the house where the garage and house meet at a corner. There is some stepping of the brick, the garage foundation is cracked and the drywall in the garage is torn.

Mike

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Up Nort
At the front of the house the basement wall is bowed in approximately 16' (long). It's approximately 1" off the sill in towards the house right under the front stoop which is sinking away from the house. It is causing some long horizontal spacing in the brick where the basement wall is leaning in the most. There are many new cracks in the basement wall at the front of the house. It's crushed my drop ceiling. There is some water during heavy rain. Yes, my work desk is cluttered.

Last edited:

Mike

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Up Nort