Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Question, help please

rsmith

Hey everyone, I was out today over seeding my plot with oats and noticed that I only had about 1/3 of the pics I usually get on my cameras. Also the bucks that have usually been showing up have not shown up once, now I know I'm just getting over eager and relying on my cameras to much but I just find it odd that none of them showed up besides once or twice. is it normal for any of you guys to get pics like this closer to them shedding velvet? I know you can't pattern deer but I am just curious as to why this may occurred and if you guys have the same problem/problems even throughout the season or before season? I'm still very new to hunting so I'm just really trying to learn as much as I can and any help is appreciated!

finelyshedded

You know what!!!
Supporting Member
SW Ohio
No need to worry because they bounce around a lot from time to time. You may still need to cut back on your cam pulls/visits though. It's tough to do I realize cuz we've all done it but the bigger mature deer will not put up with that no matter how well you feed them.
It helps if you have several properties you can run cams on so you can get your card swapping fix to calm down some by alternating them on a weekly basis by pulling just one property at a time. I don't have that luxury where I hunt but maybe you do.

Jackalope

Dignitary Member
Staff member
Yep. They bounce around sometimes. I've had bucks on a can 3-4 times a week for a month. Then all of a sudden they disappear for a week or two only to show up on another can a mile away the whole two weeks. They usually come back to their original cam. But after they peel their velvet it's a crap shoot where they'll end up. Totally different animal then.

rsmith