Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

A hunt to remember

teej89

NE PA
Starting off my dad and I have never been the greatest of turkey hunters. My only bird was killed by patterning his strutting zone and sitting and waiting lol and my dad has never killed a turkey before and due to sports and his work we'd maybe get out for one Saturday a season and hearing a bird gobble was a win for us.

Fast forward to this year, I started practicing mouth calling in February every day to and from work with the help of some audio CDs. I feel I got pretty good and graduated from a double reed to some primos hunter hooks a couple weeks ago which sound awesome actually.

So my dad has been hunting since Tuesday and only has heard one bird and saw a ton of hens. We were holding off on a spot I see birds at during the fall until today. Well we decide to set up around 5:45 instead of listening for em and man when 6am hit the first bird let off and we were surrounded by gobbles till 7 but I would yelp and cutt every now and then with no luck for a response. The closest gobbles had to have been within 100yds. I was pretty bummed I couldn't make anything happen with those birds letting loose all around us. And I didn't wanna move and spook em since we already set up and already called.

So we decided to sit there till 9 yelping and purring every now and then to see if they'd circle back. Nothing. We go out to a large power line and jump a hen. I asked if he wanted to go down in the hollow and I'd show him where i deer hunted this fall and seeing the extremely steep hill he passed and said lets head out and we'll hit up another spot. As we're walking out maybe 300yds from the car a hen jumps out from the woods onto the trail 100yds ahead and goes scurrying across the trail and down into the woods on the other side of the ridge we were on.