Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Down Wind

Hoytman62

I am new at bow hunting Whitetail Deer. Second year. Really enjoy it but I can't get to understand the concept of placing your tree stand down wind, cross wind , etc.. I'm a pilot and the wind will blow different directions maybe each day at times. Can anyone explain this concept to me? Thanks.

Joel

Centerburg, Ohio
I'm a newb compared to a lot of the guys on here but I'll try to explain. You want to set up a stand close to where you think the deer are going to be. If your stand is facing a deer trail to the North of you, you don't want to hunt when there is a South wind that day because your scent will be blowing towards the deer. If there is a North wind, you're good. The wind does change so that's one of the many reasons for multiple stands- so you can pick one or stay away from one depending on the wind direction that day.

dante322

*Supporting Member*
Crawford county
I like to place stands on the south or east side of a trail because the normal prevailing wind is northwest. But as stated above, avoid those stands when the wind will send your scent in the direction you expect the deer to be coming from. Multiple stands set up specifically for various wind direction are helpful, as well as mobile setups like climbers. It is also helpful to Check out how obstacles will effect wind direction. A west wind coming over the tree tops will often roll back eastward as it drops into a field or a ravine. A scent smoker has become a popular means of "hiding" your scent, making wind direction less of a factor.

Treed

Stark County
A climber, a good harness, and a Scent Smoker is all you need!
I like my climber just because of this reason. I'll hunt out of that thing until I'm too old to drag it in the woods with me.