Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

The death of a Monarch

JD Boyd

*Supporting Member*
Urbana
The past three years Joe and I have been getting pics of a buck Joe nicknamed "Tank". The legendary buck finally made a big mistake tonight. This summer he showed up at a salt lick sight I've been keeping up for around 5 years. Its become a good spot to get early pics of what's around in the area. Here he was...

In late October early November I saw him heading to a old cattle pasture and told my buddy and he put a cam there that day and that night he got this picture of him...

Joe shot at him the sat of gun week and didn't have the best shot opportunity at him.

My buddy has this property wrapped up right across the road we have permission to hunt and since he had already killed his buck he told me to go ahead and give it a whack. On dec 17th I moved everything in to try and lure him in. I took 15 bushels of corn and probably close to that in beans as well. I wanted to get it all in there at once and not be going in and out all the time taking bait in, only to hunt was my reasoning to go in there. My best winds were anything out of the north at first thought. This was the first pic at this bait sight...

On dec 23rd I made my first sit and at 5:09 he gave me a shot opportunity and I blew it. At only a 23 yard shot I managed to hit the only briar bush around and my arrow just brazed right under his chest. I thought it was over then. He went up the hill and stood there for about two minutes wondering what the heck that was flying under him...lol... The very next night he was right back there...